Urgent action alert. Tell Congress not to balance the budget on the backs of the poor.

June 21, 2011 at 5:46 am Leave a comment

 

Help us send 10,000 memos to CongressHelp us
send 10,000
memos to Congress.

Protect low-income families. Sign the memo.

I’m Tara Marks, and I know what it’s like to be hungry.

I was a single mother and in order to improve my life and that of my son, I
went back to earn my college degree. I went from having an ideal life with
perfect credit to living on student loans, credit, and skipping many meals so my
son could eat. After a weekend without food, I learned that I could get help
through federal nutrition programs.

I’m grateful for the help churches and food banks gave me. But all the
charitable work they do can’t compare to the amount of help federal nutrition
programs provide hungry and poor people.

Now
Congress is pursuing severe cuts to the federal nutrition programs that kept me
and my son from going hungry
. Don’t get me wrong; we need to
balance the federal budget and reduce our deficit—but let’s not
do it on the backs of the most vulnerable people
.

This is where I need your help. Have you ever gotten a memo from your boss?
Well, members of Congress have bosses, too. They’re called
voters—aka you. Congress needs such a memo
right now as members debate the budget. I invite you to join me and sign the
“Memo from Your Boss”
urging Congress to protect and reform
programs that serve the most vulnerable people here and abroad. Congress must
create a circle of protection around these vital programs.

In a few weeks, Bread members and allies will deliver your memo to
congressional offices in states and districts across the nation. You can even
sign up to be part of the delivery. We’re aiming for 10,000 memos by
June 24.
With your help, I know we can reach this goal. Will you
raise your voice with us?

As a Christian, I believe the moral measure of the budget debate is how the
most poor and vulnerable people fare. We look at every budget proposal from the
bottom up—how it treats those Jesus called “the least of these” (Matthew
25:45).

Unfortunately, much of the debate has centered on political posturing from
both parties. But beneath the political gamesmanship is this stark reality:
One in six families in the United States struggles to put food on the
table. One in five people around the world lives on less than $1.25 a day. And
yet programs that help these families are on the chopping block at a time of
record need.

Sign
the memo to Congress today
and help create a circle of protection
around these vital programs.

Tara Marks

Peace and blessings,
Tara Marks - Signature

Tara Marks
Activist, Bread for the World
Co-director,
Just Harvest Pittsburgh

Entry filed under: Action Alert.

Oregonians may now apply for SNAP online Breads Summer Newsletter 2011

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

Pages


